Sunday, March 21, 2010

Todd Elected to the IPC Athlete's Council

From the International Paralympic Committee website (

Vancouver/Whistler, Canada – All accredited athletes participating in the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games had the chance to take part in the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletes' Council Election.  A record number of 403 athletes (79,9%) in all two Paralympic Villages (Vancouver, Whistler) voted for three of the six candidates running for the IPC Athletes' Council.

Athletes elected to the IPC Athletes' Council include:
Katarzyna Rogowiec, Poland, Biathlon & Cross-Country Skiing (275 votes)
Todd Nicholson, Canada, Ice Sledge Hockey (203 votes)
Eskil Hagen, Norway, Ice Sledge Hockey (193 votes)

The IPC Athletes’ Council (AC) is the collective voice of Paralympic athletes within the IPC and the greater Paralympic Movement. As the liaison between the IPC decision-makers and Paralympic athletes, the IPC AC works to provide effective input into decision-making at all levels of the organization. The Council is composed of nine Paralympic athlete representatives elected for a four-year term. Six athlete representatives are elected during the Paralympic Summer Games and three during the Paralympic Winter Games. The new IPC Athletes' Council Winter Representatives (2010-2011) will be announced and presented during the Paralympic Games Closing Ceremony.

Congratulations, Todd!!!  You are going to do a great job!!!


No comments:

Post a Comment